Academic Senate Hosts Distinguished Faculty Award Ceremony: 3 Bio Sci Faculty Honored

November 18, 2010

The 2010-11 Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards will be presented 7 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 2, at the University Club. John C. Avise (shown), Distinguished Faculty Award for Research recipient, will give a lecture titled “A Naturalist in the Age of Genetics.” In addition, the following award recipients will be honored: Michael Franz, computer science professor; Candice Odgers, psychology & social behavior professor; Peter Bowler, ecology & evolutionary biology professor; Michael J. Montoya, anthropology, Chicano/Latino studies and public health professor; Frank LaFerla, neurobiology & behavior professor; and Sandy Irani, computer science professor. Chancellor Michael Drake will host a reception following the lecture. Admission is free. RSVP by Monday, Nov. 29, to 949.824.8340 or