Dean LaFerla named Chair of Provost Search Committee  

October 6, 2014

052  uciOn October 6, 2014, Chancellor Howard Gillman announced the formation of a Search Committee for the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor at UC Irvine. He also named Dean Frank M. LaFerla chair of the committee. Please read the announcement from the Chancellor below:

Dear Colleagues: ??I am pleased to share with you the news that we are initiating a national search to identify our next provost and executive vice chancellor. We seek to attract an outstanding candidate to provide leadership and vision as we move forward in education, research, and service. ??We have formed the search committee that will help guide this important recruitment. The committee, bearing in mind our compelling interest in inclusive excellence, is charged with finding superlative candidates with exemplary administrative and academic leadership experience who are distinguished scholars and teachers and capable of leading the academic enterprise of our campus. The committee is chaired by Frank LaFerla, dean of the School of Biological Sciences, and includes the following members:

  • Jennifer Aaron, assistant dean, Division of Undergraduate Education
  • Dahlia Aguirre, principal employment analyst, Human Resources
  • Barbara Dosher, distinguished professor, School of Social Sciences
  • Lorraine Evangelista, professor, Nursing Science
  • Jonathan Feng, professor, School of Physical Sciences
  • Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, distinguished professor, School of Physical Sciences
  • Sunil Gandhi, assistant professor, School of Biological Sciences
  • Emile Haddad, chair, University of California, Irvine Foundation
  • Todd Holmes, professor, School of Medicine
  • Sonali Madireddi, doctoral student, Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences; president, Associated Graduate Students
  • Shaista Malik, associate professor and associate professor in residence, School of Medicine
  • Meredith Michaels, vice chancellor of planning and budget
  • Nicole Mitchell, professor, Claire Trevor School of the Arts
  • Thomas Parham, vice chancellor of student affairs
  • Vicki Ruiz, distinguished professor and chair, School of Humanities and School of Social Sciences
  • Jacobo Sefami, professor, School of Humanities
  • Soroosh Sorooshian, distinguished professor, Henry Samueli School of Engineering
  • Alan Terricciano, professor, Claire Trevor School of the Arts; chair-elect, Academic Senate
  • Deborah Vandell, dean, School of Education
  • Gregory Washington, dean, Henry Samueli School of Engineering
  • Reza Zomorrodian, senior, School of Social Sciences; president, Associated Students of UC Irvine

We plan to engage the services of a nationally recognized academic search consultant to assist the committee.


The committee will begin its deliberations soon. It welcomes written input regarding the search process or potential candidates. All correspondence will be held in the strictest confidence. Written comments or nominations should be addressed to:

Provost Search Committee?In Care of Jiwon Kim, project administrator for academic affairs?Aldrich Hall 509, Mail Code 1000?Irvine, California 92697-1000?

Nominations and applications will be reviewed by the committee as they are submitted, and the position will remain open until it is filled.


We welcome your participation in this vital recruitment.


Chancellor Howard Gillman