Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

The Trisomy 21 Research Society Virtual Conference (T21RS 2021) will be held virtually from June 8 to 10, 2021 through the online platform EventsOnAir. All participants will have access by a user and a password to all sessions live from their computer, laptop or tablet.

Schedule: From 7:00am PST and 4:00pm CET
Duration: 4 hours approximately

June 8th Agenda

TUESDAY, JUNE 8 2021
Biomarkers and Neuropathology in Down syndrome
STARTING TIME SESSION
4:00 pm CET / 7:00 am PST

WELCOME

→ Dr. Andre Strydom (UK), Dr. Jorge Busciglio (Chair USA) and Dr. Elizabeth Head (USA)

4:15 pm CET / 7:15 am PST

T21RS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

→ Dr. Andre Strydom (UK) and Maria Martinez de Lagran Cabredo (Spain)

5:00 pm CET / 8:00 am PST Break
5:20 pm CET / 8:20 am PST

PLENARY LECTURE

→ ABC-DS: Progress update and recent findings.
Dr. Ben Handen (USA)

6:05 pm CET / 9:05 am PST Break
6:25 pm CET / 9:25 am PST

SYMPOSIUM SESSION 1

→ Molecular and cellular pathology in Down syndrome brain with aging: Neuropathological studies.
Chair: Dr. Lotta Granholm (USA)

→ Tau cortical neuron expression profiling in demented and nondemented cases with Down Syndrome.
Dr. Elliott Mufson (USA)

→ The role of innate immune and iron-related putative biomarker proteins in Alzheimer’s disease pathology in Down syndrome.
Dr. Ruma Raha-Chowdhury (UK)

→ Lewy body pathology in Down syndrome brain post mortem.
Dr. Isabel Barroeta (Spain)

→ Live discussion

7:10 pm CET / 10:10 am PST Break
7:30 pm CET / 10:30 am PST TRAINEE BLITZ
8:15 pm CET / 11:15 am PST CLOSE OF DAY 1

June 9th Agenda

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 9 2021
Behavioral and Clinical Studies in Down syndrome
STARTING TIME SESSION
4:00 pm CET / 7:00 am PST

PLENARY LECTURE

→ The role of endo-lysosomal dysfunction in Down syndrome.
Dr. Marie Claude Potier (Paris)

4:45 pm CET / 7:45 am PST Break
5:05 pm CET / 8:05 am PST

SYMPOSIUM SESSION 2

→ Neural correlates of intellectual disability.
Chair: Dr. Victoria Puig (Spain)

→ Prefrontal-hippocampal neural dynamics as predictors of cognitive impairment and rescue in Down syndrome.
Dr. Victoria Puig (Spain)

→ Electrocortical correlates of auditory processing in Down syndrome.
Dr. Fedal Saini (UK)

→ Multimodal MRI biomarkers for Alzheimer disease in Down syndrome.
Dr. Michael Yassa (USA)

→ Live discussion

5:50 pm CET / 8:50 am PST Break
6:10 pm CET / 9:10 am PST

SCIENCE AND SOCIETY

→ PST Opening words.
Drs. Maria Carmona Iragui (Spain) and Anne-Sophie Rebillat (France)

→ Community Engaged Research: The Down Syndrome Community Informing Research.
Dr. James Hendrix (USA)

→ Cultural program, drama piece.
Proposed by Dr. Sujay Ghosh (India)

→ Community engaged research: Centering self-advocates.
Dr. Priya Chandan (USA)

→ Research and the Voice of Caregivers – Results of Surveys and Focus Groups.
Hampus Hillerstrom (USA)

→ Longitudinal Data Outcomes on Adults with Down Syndrome and Dementia Supported in Group Homes.
Dr. Matthew Janicki (USA)

→ Live discussion and closing remarks.
Drs. Maria Carmona Iragui (Spain) and Anne-Sophie Rebillat (France)

7:10 pm CET / 10:10 am PST Break
7:30 pm CET / 10:30 am PST

SYMPOSIUM SESSION 3

→ Down Syndrome Regression Disorder: Clinical Characteristics and Differential Diagnosis.
Chair: Dr. Johnathan Santoro (USA)

→ Are we underestimating the presence and treatment of mental illness in people with Down syndrome?
Dr. Maria del Carmen Ortega (Spain)

→ Regression in Down Syndrome: Multi-Center Data on Clinical Phenotypes.
Dr. Stephanie Santoro (USA)

→ Down Syndrome Regression Disorder: Neuroimmunologic Phenomenon and Responses to Immunomodulatory Therapy.
Dr. Johnathan Santoro (USA)

→ Live discussion

8:15 pm CET / 11:15 am PST CLOSE OF DAY 2

June 10th Agenda

THURSDAY, JUNE 10 2021
Inflammation in Down syndrome and Future Clinical Trials
STARTING TIME SESSION
4:00 pm CET / 7:00 am PST

PLENARY LECTURE

→ Medical Vulnerability of Individuals with Down Syndrome to Severe COVID-19: Data from the Trisomy 21 Research Society COVID-19 Survey.
Dr. Stephanie Sherman (USA)

4:45 pm CET / 7:45 am PST Break
5:05 pm CET / 8:05 am PST

SYMPOSIUM SESSION 4

→ Brain and systemic inflammation in individuals with Down syndrome.
Chair: Dr. Lisi Flores-Aguilar (Canada)

→ Neuroinflammation across the lifespan of individuals with Down syndrome.
Dr. Lisi Flores-Aguilar (Canada)

→ Interferon hyperactivity in Down syndrome: causes, consequences, and therapeutic opportunities.
Dr. Joaquin Espinosa (USA)

→ Systemic inflammation in children with Down syndrome.
Dr. Eleanor Molloy (Ireland)

→ Live discussion

5:50 pm CET / 8:50 am PST Break
6:10 pm CET / 9:10 am PST SYMPOSIUM SESSION 5
→ Clinical trials to prevent Alzheimer’s disease in Down syndrome: state-of-the-art in clinical outcome measures.
Chair: Dr. Andre Strydom (UK)→ CAMCOG-DS-II: development and validation of a clinical and research tool for diagnosis and neuropsychological assessment in people with Down syndrome with suspected dementia.
Dr. Shahid Zaman (UK)→ The H21/ Life-DSR cognitive test battery – identification of a trial outcome measure for early intervention in Down syndrome and Alzheimer disease using longitudinal data across cohorts.
Dr. Andy Aschenbrenner (USA)

→ Novel Endpoints in Down syndrome and Alzheimer disease: Using Goal Attainment Scaling to Measure Patient-Centered Outcomes.
Dr. Rockwood (USA)

→ Live discussion

6:55 pm CET / 9:55 am PST Break
7:15 pm CET / 10:15 am PST

T21RS SOCIETY AWARDS

→ Annette Karmiloff-Smith and Michael Harpold Dissertation Award.
Dr. Sandra Guidi (Italy)

T21RS SOCIETY AWARDS

→ TBN

T21RS SOCIETY AWARDS – DATA BLITZ WINNERS

→ Dr. Elizabeth Head (USA)

CLOSING

→ Dr. Andre Strydom (UK), Dr. Jorge Busciglio (USA) and Dr. Elizabeth Head (USA)

Register Here

Details

Start:
June 8 @ 7:00 AM
End:
June 10 @ 4:00 PM
Cost:
$
Event Category:
Website:
https://t21rs2021.com/

Venue

Virtual Conference

Organizer

T21 Research Society
Website:
https://t21rs2021.com/

« All Events