Professor Michael Yassa and Dean Frank LaFerla Honored with Distinguished Faculty Awards

July 19, 2023

The School of Biological Sciences is proud to announce that Professor Michael Yassa and Dean Frank LaFerla have been selected as recipients of the Academic Senate’s highest honors, the Distinguished Faculty Awards. These prestigious awards recognize excellence in research, teaching, mentorship and service, and highlight the remarkable contributions made by faculty members to the university community and beyond.

Professor Yassa, from the Department of Neurobiology and Behavior, has been awarded the Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentorship. This accolade celebrates his exceptional dedication to mentoring students and faculty, extending beyond his formal advising responsibilities. Professor Yassa’s mentoring activities have had a profound impact on the academic and personal development of individuals under his guidance. His selfless commitment to fostering the growth and success of others is truly commendable.

Dean LaFerla has been honored with the Academic Senate – Better World Award. This distinction acknowledges his extraordinary contributions in an area of vital importance to the core values of UC Irvine. Dean LaFerla’s endeavors have had a transformative effect on the global community, demonstrating his unwavering commitment to making a lasting impact on the world.

The Distinguished Faculty Awards will be presented at the Distinguished Faculty Awards Event, scheduled to take place in Winter 2024. This event will provide an opportunity for the UC Irvine community to come together and celebrate the remarkable achievements of Professor Yassa, Dean LaFerla and the other Distinguished Faculty Award recipients. Their contributions have significantly enriched the university and reaffirmed its commitment to excellence in education, mentorship and global impact.

Please join us in congratulating Professor Yassa and Dean LaFerla on receiving these well-deserved honors. Their exemplary work sets a high standard for faculty members and inspires us all to strive for greatness.