Home Newsletter UCI BioSci MSP Students Recognized for Outstanding Research

UCI BioSci MSP Students Recognized for Outstanding Research

MSP Conference Logo

BioSci would like to congratulate the undergraduate students from the school’s Minority Science Programs (MSP) who participated in the E-poster competition at the 2021 annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences (AAAS). The meeting was held online from February 8 to 11, 2021. The AAAS is a nonprofit professional society dedicated to the advancement of scientific and technological excellence across all disciplines, and to the public’s understanding of science and technology. AAAS is among the oldest scientific societies in America, having been founded in Philadelphia in 1848. The AAAS Annual Meeting offers a unique, exciting, interdisciplinary blend of more than 120 scientific sessions, plenary and topical lectures, specialized seminars, flash talk sessions, and e-poster presentations.

The following students were recognized for their outstanding presentations during the AAAS Student E-poster competition. The list contains the names of the awardees, the project titles and the projects’ principal investigators.

E-Poster Session: Brain and Behavior


Undergraduate First Place: Joshua Martinez, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Susana Cohen-Cory)

In Vivo Imaging of 2-AG Induced Xenopus Laevis Retinal Ganglion Cell Development


Undergraduate Second Place: Rosa Serrano, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Marcelo Wood)

Focal Deletion of BAF53b in the Adult Brain is Sufficient to Impair Long Term Memory

Undergraduate Third Place: Marina Edward, University of California, Irvine (Dr. Susana Cohen-Cory)

Upregulated 2-AG and AEA Affect Synaptic Plasticity In Xenopus Laevis Visual Circuit

E-Poster Session: Cell Biology


Undergraduate Second Place: Casadora Boone, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Luis Mota-Bravo)

Multidrug Resistance Conjugative Plasmid in an Environmental Escherichia coli


Undergraduate Third Place: Christian Checkcinco, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Bruce Blumberg)

Assessment of Possible Metabolic Disrupting Compounds through Optimized Protocol

E-Poster Session: Developmental Biology, Genetics, and Immunology


Undergraduate Second Place: Angelique Cortez, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Ali Mortazavi)

Studying the Chromatin States in Alzheimer’s Disease Derived Microglia

E-Poster Session: Environment and Ecology


Undergraduate First Place: Clarisa Martinez, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Luis Mota-Bravo)

Beta-Lactam Resistance in an Avian Escherichia Coli from California

Undergraduate Third Place: JoAnne Villagrana, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Luis Mota-Bravo)

First U.S. Report of Escherichia Coli ST1193 Collected from an Aquatic Environment

E-Poster Session: Medicine and Public Health


Undergraduate First Place: Marize Rizkalla, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Luis Mota-Bravo)

Multidrug Resistant and Virulent Environmental Escherichia Coli ST38

E-Poster Session: Technology, Engineering and Math


Undergraduate Third Place: Francisco Brenes, University of California, Irvine (PI Dr. Anna Grosberg)

Relational Database for the Analysis of Quantified Cardiac Muscle Tissue Study


The MSP at BioSci is funded by the National Institutes of Health and run by director Luis Mota-Bravo, PhD, and director of student academic development Marlene de la Cruz, PhD. Students who participate in the program go onto pursue doctorate degrees and careers in biomedical research.

“The AAAS Student E-poster competition recognizes the originality and understanding of the research conducted by students and their advisors. The winners’ presentations show the leadership of MSP students and their faculty mentors in diverse areas of biomedical sciences” says Dr. Luis Mota-Bravo. Congratulations, MSP Awardees!

Share This Post

Post Navigation